A Yates Holiday Tradition

To our students, faculty, staff and community members:
By now, many of you will have gathered with your friends and family, either close to campus or in places far away, to share the holiday festivities and participate in whatever family traditions you hold dear.

As Yates prepares to close for our own 3 day holiday hiatus, here’s a glimpse into a playful holiday tradition from the Yates family — the most recent staff members have the “honor” of decorating the Yates holiday tree.

This year, the honor went to our two recent additions — Maegen Hellberg and Abigail Garcia — who cheerily embraced their task and did a great job!  You can admire their work below.  We’ll have more to share about our new additions in the coming weeks!  Happy Holidays!

Holiday Hours – 2014/2015

Classes have ended, students will soon be leaving campus, and our Holiday Schedule is underway.  Modified hours of operation can be found below.

Reminder: All Group Fitness classes are FREE to all members during the holiday period.  Visit the Group Fitness page to view the winter break schedules.

Holiday Hours:

Mon, Dec 15 to Fri, Dec 19

  • 6am to 10pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 9pm

Sat, Dec 20 & Sun, Dec 21

  • 9am to 5pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 4pm

Mon, Dec 22 & Tues, Dec 23

  • 6am to 9pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 8pm

Wed, Dec 24 to Fri, Dec 26

  • CLOSED

Sat, Dec 27 to Tues, Dec 30

  • 9am to 5pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 4pm
  • Main Office is CLOSED

Wed, Dec 31 & Thurs, Jan 1

  • CLOSED

Fri, Jan 2

  • 6am to 8pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 7pm

Sat, Jan 3 & Sun, Jan 4

  • 9am to 5pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 4pm

Mon, Jan 5 & Tues, Jan 6

  • 6am to 10pm – Main Floor
  • Pool closes at 9pm

Regular hours of operation resume on Wed, Jan 6.

Spinning Instructor Training – December 13

Yates is hosting a Spinning Instructor Training on December 13 for any person interested in becoming a certified Spinning instructor.  This workshop provides the tools and information needed to lead your own official Spinning classes.  After completing the training, participants are eligible to take the Instructor Assessment online to receive an official instructor certification. Bring your gear and be ready for two great rides led by a Spinning Master Instructor. Workshop time (including two rides and a lunch break) is nine hours, from 9:00am to 6:00pm.

For additional information or to REGISTER, check out the official Instructor Training event page.

spinning

Wellness Fair Recap & the Yates Wheel of Fitness!

On November 7, Yates hosted another successful Wellness Fair in partnership with GUWellness.  Hundreds of GU faculty and staff enjoyed the free chair massages, health screenings, promos and giveaways, and the benefits resources as well.WellFair1

During the event, Yates staff featured the exciting “Wheel of Fitness” game, in which dozens of visitors tested their luck to win a Yates giveaway or face a random fitness challenge, including push ups, jump rope, and jumping jacks among others.  Congratulations to the many winners, and to our other contestants – better luck next year!

Wheel Winners:
Free Swim Lesson: Rachel Yancey, Magdalena Lopez, Yaregal Woineshet, Evagelia Larakis, Regina Jackson, Arman Terjimanian

Free CPR Class: Laura Bishop, Trent Jackson

Free Personal Training Session: Delson Baraoidan, Aaron Anderson, Daunett Hemmings, Taylor Struckman, Kerstin Gobel, Joanna Groberg, Elzbieta Stafford

$25 Gift Certificate to Pro Shop: Valerie Youmans
YatesWheel2YatesWheel1

Thanksgiving 2014 Holiday Hours

As you prepare for the upcoming holiday break, here’s some information on Yates hours of operation for the Thanksgiving period.  First, the Main Office is closed from Thurs, Nov 27th through Sun, Nov 30th.  Group fitness classes will not be held from Thurs, Nov 27th through Sat, Nov 29th.  Group fitness schedule will resume on Sun, Nov 30th.

Hours of Operation

Wednesday, Nov 26

  • Main Floor: 6am to 9pm
  • Pool: 6:30am to 9:30am / 11:30am – 2:30pm / 5pm to 8pm
    ** pool schedule is staggered due to available lifeguards

Thursday, Nov 27 – CLOSED

Friday, Nov 28

  • Main Floor: 9am to 5pm
  • Pool: 9am to 4pm

Saturday, Nov 29

  • Main Floor: 9am to 5pm
  • Pool: 9am to 4pm

Sunday, Nov 30

  • Main Floor: 9am to 10pm
  • Pool: 9am to 9pm
  • Group Fitness resumes

Regular hours of operation resume on Monday, December 1.  From the entire Yates family, we wish a happy and safe Thanksgiving to you and your family.